Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Power To Sing (New Home) Forums Member Introductions Introduction – Annick

• Introduction – Annick

Posted by Annick on August 20, 2018 at 9:11 pm

Hello again,

A new introduction as promised to Chuck Guilmore this week. I will try to keep it short this time, in case… Born in Paris, I lived in London for 30yrs, now back in France 2 years ago following a big health scare, that changed my life. I am of African origin. I am 57yrs young. The age I decided to assume my passion, to become a professional singer. And I live now in the South of France.

Prior to being here, I worked in the Luxury Industry, then, as an self-employed created my own Fashion brand. However, I always had singing and songwriting as my necessary hobby, while working the superficial world I was in. I cannot read music, but I have a very good ear. I used to write songs, hire a studio with musicians, play a recording with my melody and lyrics, and we would start from there.

I must say that going through the life events that followed my illness, made me realise that we live once, and I had better make the best of it. Singing is like a spiritual experience to me. It vibrates with me to a point that I cannot describe. Makes me happy, and feel “full”. Issue is that I get so carried away, that I sometime hurt myself.

I have just created a Soul band 3 months ago, with great musicians. We are already being approached to play gigs, while still putting together a repertoire.
    I have also put together a Jazz duet with my guitarist, for restaurants and small venues…so now, I’d better make sure I can show up!